RSS Feed

One day I started a blog

Ceramic hoot owl

Ceramic hoot owl bank

A friend of mine recently suggested I should start a blog. I’ve blogged before, but never in my life have I had a hobby I was so passionate about that I had to share it with the world. I’ve become an estate sale rat, a term I believe I coined in reference to myself and my addiction to lunch-break sale runs and Saturday morning half-price sales. In secret, I want to be Cari Cucksey. I can’t imagine a more fulfilling job than repurposing vintage things. I love history, I love restoration, I love being green, and I love not spending a ton of money on new things. So, I figured I’d give this a try.

I started an Etsy shop after some encouragement from friends. My small house is full and my needs are few and far between so I figured my services may be useful to others. I love digging and scouring sales finding the perfect items to resell. Estate sales are my main venue as they are usually pretty willing to negotiate and get rid of things. But I also love the thrift stores and garage sales. You just never know what you will find.

Thus, the adventure begins.

Happy hunting.

About Erin Shipps

Life in your thirties can sometimes feel like you're stuck between what has happened and what's yet to come -- like being amidship. But I'm forging through with thrifty household decorating, DIY projects, health advice, and just life. When I'm not crafting my local Kansas City magazine VintageKC, I'm busy being a rock star's wife and mommy to the most beautiful 3-year-old. Welcome to our world amid the Shipps.

3 responses »

  1. Welcome to the world of blogging!! I can’t wait to see more of your finds and projects. And someday I’ll move back to the area and we can open our own Cari-type store. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Yay! So happy to see you in blog land. Must add you to my blog reads. I check my blogs daily, but unfortunately I don’t blog much myself anymore. I’m trying hard to remedy that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

