RSS Feed

A Bold Change: Dining Room Makeover

To say my dining room lacked inspiration would be an understatement. For a second time I’m not sure what to call the color, but it was a yellowish tan and there was a strip of wood running as a chair rail around the room. I thought, what a random placement of wood since the bottom and top were both painted the same, until my dad and I removed the rail. It was hiding the top seam of wallpaper that was around the bottom of the wall. Suddenly we had a mess on our hands and some very tedious scraping sessions.

However, I knew I wanted bead board around this room to contrast with the ridiculously dark color I chose. I don’t do calm, serene spaces. I do bold, slap-you-in-the-face, here-I-am-love-me rooms. And this was no exception. The small rooms in my house demanded to be heard. I was loving the dark navy and white rooms I was seeing at the time and decided to go bold or go…home?

So the bead board covered up the wallpaper mess around the bottom (I feel very sorry for the poor sap who removes it) and I think the dark, dark, probably darker than I imagined navy gives this tiny space life. The space is accented with my Grandma Great’s kitchen table (I spent many an afternoon at this table eating cookies and drinking grape soda), some bird plates from Pier One, ramekins my mom gave me from Crate and Barrell, some lace curtains I mended from a garage sale, and a secretary I scored at an estate sale.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Erin Shipps

Life in your thirties can sometimes feel like you're stuck between what has happened and what's yet to come -- like being amidship. But I'm forging through with thrifty household decorating, DIY projects, health advice, and just life. When I'm not crafting my local Kansas City magazine VintageKC, I'm busy being a rock star's wife and mommy to the most beautiful 3-year-old. Welcome to our world amid the Shipps.

4 responses »

  1. Love it! I want to put bead board in my foyer. You’re so brave and handy!

    Reply
  2. I LOVE the dark color. I’m with you – I dig color in spaces, and tend to lean towards dark myself. Very nice!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

