RSS Feed

Saturday Scores

I was off work on Friday and we wore ourselves out at the zoo (which took an hour longer than it should have due to two thunderstorms, one of which we sought shelter in a hut in “Africa”, continued to get soaked and made a mad dash a little ways back to a fully roofed structure). But I digress, and I thank our wonderful friends the Behrens’ for braving the weather with us for what really was a wonderful time. Consequently, I didn’t hit any sales on Friday and I didn’t get out on Thursday either. So I was itching to get out today and hoped there were still some things left on half-price day.

Grandad and Yia Yia ventured out with Liam and I today. They were all troopers keeping up with my crazy estate sale Saturday pace. And I was still able to score a few treasures. I think we made it to six sales. A very good Saturday! And here’s what I came away with:

Green lamp

Vintage green lamp

The rest of the loot.

On the left is a vintage McCoy pitcher and base. It’s in perfect condition and only $9. I can’t believe it was still there late on a Saturday. I bought four Ball Mason jars for some fun project down the road (.50/ea). A cast iron owl pot rest caught my eye at an estate sale in a strip mall, so I splurged on it for $4. The white kitty on the right meowed to me across a basement. I spotted her and had to have her. She looks antique with no markings on the bottom she is probably hand made and she’s just lovely. And I only paid .25 for her. 🙂 The rest are vintage finds from the last sale of the day. Some vintage Hallmark flowery playing cards, vintage retro contact paper and a set of apple napkins/pot holder (cards, paper and napkins = $1.67).

I love half price Saturdays. Happy hunting!

P.S. Go check out my items for sale on my Etsy page: http://www.etsy.com/shop/erinshipps

About Erin Shipps

Life in your thirties can sometimes feel like you're stuck between what has happened and what's yet to come -- like being amidship. But I'm forging through with thrifty household decorating, DIY projects, health advice, and just life. When I'm not crafting my local Kansas City magazine VintageKC, I'm busy being a rock star's wife and mommy to the most beautiful 3-year-old. Welcome to our world amid the Shipps.

Leave a Reply

