RSS Feed

Weekend Treasures

Though out of commission on Friday afternoon and in Topeka for birthdays on Saturday, I did manage to pick up a few treasures, mostly from Savers, which I am so thankful is open on Sundays! Here’s the loot: A wooden milk sign that has a rail at the bottom (not visible) for shopping list or towel ($2.99); a small juice pitcher ($1); a fantastically adorable strawberry tea pot that I couldn’t pass up, even at $5; a great vintage teal planter (which I haggled down to $3); and a gravy/creamer set that I recognized as being Taylor Smith Taylor ($5). I recognized the china pieces because I happened to stumble upon a complete set of Taylor Smith Taylor china from the 1950s at a church rummage sale a couple of weeks ago. I paid less than $10 (I can’t remember now) and the set is worth around $250-$300. So naturally I snatched up the gravy/creamer set.

View these items and more for sale in my Etsy store.

That’s all from this weekend. Happy hunting!

About Erin Shipps

Life in your thirties can sometimes feel like you're stuck between what has happened and what's yet to come -- like being amidship. But I'm forging through with thrifty household decorating, DIY projects, health advice, and just life. When I'm not crafting my local Kansas City magazine VintageKC, I'm busy being a rock star's wife and mommy to the most beautiful 3-year-old. Welcome to our world amid the Shipps.

3 responses »

  1. I love the teal planter!! I feel like I always have bad luck at estate sales and thrift stores. I go in with such high hopes and leave empty handed. Although, Savers is usually my best bet to find at least one thing. Anyway, keep up the good work and cute blog!

    Reply
    • Thanks Megan! It all depends on the sale. I usually find the best ones in the Mission/PV area a bit north. The farther south you go, the newer things are. And you have to be crazy like me and hit six sales every weekend. But even then, some weekends are just a bust. Savers really saved me last weekend. You should come along some Saturday when you are free. Although our tastes are so similar we may be fighting over things. 😉

      Reply
  2. Erin! I responded to your comment on my blog, but found out later that it doesn’t notify you. Just didn’t want you to think I’d ignored you. 🙂 Great finds as always – I love that blue bowl!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

