RSS Feed

Saturday Breakfast: Sauteed Pear Crepes

Photo by Danielle at Ginger Rose

This morning has been eventful. I’ve already seen a giant caterpillar on my wilting tomato plant (which I refuse to water b/c it’s only feeding the squirrels), and a spider fighting an ant. Update: I found out the caterpillar is actually a tomato hornworm covered in braconid wasp eggs! Gross. I’ve also sanded the legs to my table (with the help of the Rock Star).

In other news, Liam woke me up at 7 a.m., which is always a good excuse to take him to the kitchen and make breakfast for sleeping daddy, who rarely gets to sleep in b/c he takes care of Liam. I had some overripe pears I needed to use and found this recipe at Ginger Rose. She’s got a ton of great recipes, so check her out!

I used my own crepe recipe, but used her sauteed pears.

First, the crepes, which I discovered years ago and have a mad obsession with.
Crepes
4 eggs
1-1/3 c. milk
2 T. butter
1 c. flour
2 T. sugar
1/2 t. salt
Cinnamon and vanilla to taste (optional)

1. Melt the butter in a large skillet or crepe pan and add it to the rest of the ingredients. This not only greases the pan, but makes the butter easier to mix in. It’s probably not proper, but I do it anyway. Using a food processor or whisk, mix the ingredients together.
2. If you’ve never made crepes, it’s like making pancakes only the batter is thinner and you rotate the pan in a circular motion until the batter covers the bottom of the pan. You want it to be thin.
3. Brown on both sides (which doesn’t take long). You can keep the crepes in a warm oven while you’re making the rest, but I prefer mine room temp.

Sauteed pears
4 pears, peeled, cored, and sliced
about 2 1/2 tbsp butter
about 2 1/2 tbsp brown sugar
about 1 tsp cinnamon
dusting of icing sugar (optional)

1. On medium to medium-high heat, melt the butter.
2. Once butter has melted, add the pear slices and cook, stirring occasionally, until golden and tender.
3. Add the Brown sugar and cook, stirring, for another minute.
4. Remove from heat, and sprinkle with cinnamon. Serve inside of crepes, sprinkled with icing sugar and more cinnamon.

Happy Saturday everyone! Now on to more project work and garage sale organization. It’s madness here I tell you, madness.

About Erin Shipps

Life in your thirties can sometimes feel like you're stuck between what has happened and what's yet to come -- like being amidship. But I'm forging through with thrifty household decorating, DIY projects, health advice, and just life. When I'm not crafting my local Kansas City magazine VintageKC, I'm busy being a rock star's wife and mommy to the most beautiful 3-year-old. Welcome to our world amid the Shipps.

2 responses »

  1. Oh my crap, that looks good!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

