RSS Feed

Lunch Break Treasures

Our garage sale starts bright and early tomorrow morning, so needless to say I won’t be getting to any sales this weekend. But I’m OK with that. Someone please get all this junk out of my house! And pay me. 🙂

There were a couple of sales close by today that I hit and found a few items worthy of the pot.
First, a Marushka screen print, a whale of a bank and a yellow bowl.

For the life of me I cannot figure out what the markings “USA P-8” mean on the bottom of the yellow bowl. But I’ll keep digging. $1
The whale bank is cuter than the dickens and was handpainted by a lady for someone’s birthday. $1
The Marushka screen print does have some history. Richard Sweet founded Marushka in 1971 to sell affordable silk screens. They were around $24 and were mostly found in apartments and dorms. They were popular in the 1970s and 1980s. The last Marushka was printed in 1989. Sweet died in 2007. I took a risk purchasing it for $6 not really knowing this history other than my BB telling me via Ebay that others were trying to sell them. Turns out it’s fairly valuable.

Another fabulous find was this large (probably 2.5×3′) framed floral yarn art. I have this sick affinity for yarn art, and when I say yarn art it makes me think of yard art. But this one called to me from across the room. I had to have it. And it was only $3. Isn’t it fantastic? It’s OK if you don’t like it. Just don’t tell me.

And that’s probably all for this week. I’ll be garage-sale-ing it up for the next few days and hopefully find some time to work on my next project. My workspace is in dire need. (hint)

About Erin Shipps

Life in your thirties can sometimes feel like you're stuck between what has happened and what's yet to come -- like being amidship. But I'm forging through with thrifty household decorating, DIY projects, health advice, and just life. When I'm not crafting my local Kansas City magazine VintageKC, I'm busy being a rock star's wife and mommy to the most beautiful 3-year-old. Welcome to our world amid the Shipps.

Leave a Reply

