RSS Feed

Kitchen Canister Vote-off!

Last Saturday I picked up an adorable Deco set of kitchen canisters with the intention of selling them. I’ve had my 1950s red retro kitchen canisters just about as long as I’ve been married (8.5 years) and I like them, but then I thought, maybe it’s time for something new. Here’s my kitchen as it currently stands. Also note the stacking baskets on the yellow cart that I scored at another Saturday sale for $1! I love a good space saver in my tiny kitchen. You can read about what I call “America’s Smallest Kitchen” here.

Here’s a closeup of my red canisters, the inspiration for my retro kitchen.

And here is the kitchen with the Deco silver canisters.

Now it’s time for you to decide. Vote below. And while you’re at it, leave me a comment telling me what era inspires you most in your home decoration. Maybe it varies from room to room. My kitchen/dining are very mid-century, but I find the rest of my house to be more 1930s and 1940s.

About Erin Shipps

Life in your thirties can sometimes feel like you're stuck between what has happened and what's yet to come -- like being amidship. But I'm forging through with thrifty household decorating, DIY projects, health advice, and just life. When I'm not crafting my local Kansas City magazine VintageKC, I'm busy being a rock star's wife and mommy to the most beautiful 3-year-old. Welcome to our world amid the Shipps.

4 responses »

  1. Oh gosh, I just submitted a tying vote! Let us know what you decide! 🙂

    Reply
  2. The Deco ones look like the ones Grandma Great used to have (she even had a smaller one for TEA). So the Deco ones definately make my heart all aglow!

    Reply
  3. Love both, but gotta say red. They remind me of Lucille Ball, for some reason. Stay with your inspiration..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

