RSS Feed

Refinished Mid-Century Magazine Rack

I found this mid-century magazine rack at a garage sale. I saw it from the street as I drove by and the woman was anxious to get rid of it. I paid $1 for it. It was powder-coated black, had a little bit of surface rust and was missing one rubber foot. Here’s what I did.


After some sanding, the metal started to peek through the black powder coating.


And the sanded powder coating turned my hand into this.


I applied three coats of spray primer. Jovie was less than thrilled...



And then I applied three coats of aqua spray paint



I considered buying one of these spray paint guns and then found one in my workshop. Silly. It works great and definitely saves the finger.


I added new footers, which I found in the closet section of Home Depot. They were perfect!


Here's a reminder of the before condition...


And after all was said and done! Isn't she purdy?

If I wanted to be fancy, I’d apply some clear coat to seal the paint, but it seems to be holding up really well. This was an easy afternoon project that anyone could do! Have you finished any small projects lately? What room in your house is your favorite to accessorize?

Happy refinishing!

Linking to
Remodelaholic
Photobucket

About Erin Shipps

Life in your thirties can sometimes feel like you're stuck between what has happened and what's yet to come -- like being amidship. But I'm forging through with thrifty household decorating, DIY projects, health advice, and just life. When I'm not crafting my local Kansas City magazine VintageKC, I'm busy being a rock star's wife and mommy to the most beautiful 3-year-old. Welcome to our world amid the Shipps.

9 responses »

  1. I have to ask – How do you decide what you’re going to do with your finds? How do you know which finish (for any project) is best? Paint vs. stain? Where did you learn to do this stuff?? I want to get better at it, but it’s intimidating when you have no idea what you’re doing!

    Reply
    • Hi Amy! It’s so different every time. And sometimes I know exactly what I want to do, like with this rack project, and other times I have to let it sit for a while and look at what others are doing online with a particular piece or type of furniture. I’m equal-opportunity when it comes to painting vs. staining. I figure if I can get it down to bare wood easily, then it’s worth staining, but a lot of old pieces have difficult surfaces that just deserve a good old coat of paint. Paint is just so wonderful for hiding all the imperfections vintage items bring. I learn a lot through trial and error and following the directions on the can. πŸ˜‰ I haven’t done anything too complicated yet, and I think most people are capable of the things I’ve done so far. I have some projects coming up that are a bit more daring, so we’ll see how those go (one including some barn wood that I think you’ll be particularly jazzed about). πŸ™‚ I think DIY is just all about giving it a go and seeing what happens. You’ll rarely ruin a piece or run into something you can’t fix. And that’s half the fun. I read blogs, google certain ideas and look through Pinterest a lot for inspiration. And a lot of it I chalk up to a crazy sixth sense about these things. And luck. If you’ve got any projects you’re stuck on, I’ll definitely be glad to offer some advice! Hit me up at grandmagreatstreasures@gmail.com. You have such a great sense of style, I’m sure you’ll do fantastic! Good luck!

      Reply
  2. Oh la la! I could totally see this in any room, whether a fun cottage (decorated with red and aqua!) or in a modern living room needing a punch of color. Small project completed: hanging curtain in my son’s bedroom. The bonus: It’s so dark in there any time of day. Great for napping!

    Reply
  3. Love it! You know I’m a sucker for turquoise…

    Reply
  4. cute!! I love the color! What brand of spray paint is that?

    Reply
  5. hey girl! I painted a metal magazine rack aqua too over the summer! Great minds think alike! A spray paint gun… now that’s something I should have put on my christmas list… is it too late, Santa???

    Reply

Leave a Reply

