RSS Feed

A Mobile to Honor Veterans

Things have been a little slow around here on the biz front. I threw two parties in the last week and it wiped me out. I love hosting parties, cooking for people. Of course we have a very small house, but we try to cram in as many of those we love as possible.

I have managed to shine up a few things to sell on Craigslist and made a couple of sales from my Etsy shop, one of which was particularly relevant that I wanted to share.

I found a handmade copper mobile at an estate sale months ago. It was lovingly hanging in an office and it was surely made by a veteran. It had four small airplanes that circled around to the Air Force Song (Into the Wild Blue Yonder) and I held on to it for a long time. Maybe I wasn’t ready to get rid of it; maybe it was waiting for the right person. Within days of listing it, the mobile sold just after Veteran’s Day. I deemed it appropriate and I’m so glad it found it’s new home.

Reading my feedback on my Etsy shop and making connections with people locally gives me such gratification for all the hard work it is running my own business. It makes it all worth it.

About Erin Shipps

Life in your thirties can sometimes feel like you're stuck between what has happened and what's yet to come -- like being amidship. But I'm forging through with thrifty household decorating, DIY projects, health advice, and just life. When I'm not crafting my local Kansas City magazine VintageKC, I'm busy being a rock star's wife and mommy to the most beautiful 3-year-old. Welcome to our world amid the Shipps.

2 responses »

  1. Good for you! And hang in there – good and big things will head your way!! PS – Love the new banner! Sure is a cute little guy you got there. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

