RSS Feed

Weekend Treasures

During the week I don’t step outside much. I work from home and am car-less in the evening, so most of a day had passed before I realized there was an estate sale two doors down from my house last week. I wasn’t planning on going to any sales last weekend, but it was so close and convenient. Plus, it was run by this wonderful group of old church ladies, who run the bi-annual sales at a church nearby, and they are so nice and in love with my son. We visited nearly every day, even brought them cookies one day. And I managed to find a few treasures Saturday at half-price.

Treasures include: Four mason jars, three with an awesome star logo and one from 1976 featuring the Liberty Bell ($.25 each). A vintage hanging closet purse organizer, NIB, $.50. Three vintage DIY needlework and crafts books $.50 each. Crewelwork that just needs a frame $3, blue/white pot holders $.25 for the pair, yellow doily $1, two scarves $.50 each, a knit hat for myself $1, a 1968 calendar towel $.50, and a yellow/brown/floral apron $1.

I also found this fun owl wall hanging for $2. I love the teal and green mixed together on the flowers and leaves.

In honor of the holiday this week I thought I’d also take time to give thanks for 10 things:
1. A happy, healthy family that supports and loves me.
2. My nearly 17-month-old son, who I still don’t believe is real every time I hold him.
3. A warm home and our needs being met.
4. The opportunity to work from home, which means I get to see my boys more.
5. An outlet for creativity, even if is just in my spare time.
6. Visions for the future to drive me daily.
7. A husband who still loves me in every way imaginable after 12 years together.
8. A business of my very own and the opportunity to write about it here. Check out my Etsy link on the right.
9. Friends who make an effort regularly to be in our lives.
10. Art, music, and vintage treasures to appreciate and be inspired by daily.

Happy hunting everyone and happy Thanksgiving!

About Erin Shipps

Life in your thirties can sometimes feel like you're stuck between what has happened and what's yet to come -- like being amidship. But I'm forging through with thrifty household decorating, DIY projects, health advice, and just life. When I'm not crafting my local Kansas City magazine VintageKC, I'm busy being a rock star's wife and mommy to the most beautiful 3-year-old. Welcome to our world amid the Shipps.

4 responses »

  1. Much to be thankful for indeed! Happy Thanksgiving to you and your boys!!

    Reply
  2. Happy Thanksgiving, Erin! Love this video. One of my new favorite tunes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

