RSS Feed

Crazy About: Vintage Yarn Art

Call it crewelwork, call it embroidery, call it something lame and completely unprofessional like yarn art (like me), whatever it is, I’m crazy about it! I’ve picked up a few pieces here and there but lately whenever I see one of these framed beauties, I can’t seem to walk away.

The first pieces I picked up were these lovely birds, which I’m happy to say finally found a home last weekend, in West Virginia.

One of the first items I ever sold from Grandma Great’s Treasure’s Etsy Shop was this set of vegetable yarn art, perfect for any vintage kitchen and so cute!

I also recently sold this adorable owl art, perfect for a nursery. I had this one for a while!

Next I found the piece destined for our bedroom. It’s too big to ship anywhere anyway and looking up from bed at it brings me to a lovely field of flowers, peaceful, restful.

This art comes in all shapes and sizes, though, and this small dainty piece was too cute to pass up at $1.

I picked up another large piece that I fall in love with more every day. I love the colors. It’s currently for sale on Craigslist.

This piece I found without a frame two doors down from my home at an estate sale. It just needs a happy little frame to make it complete. I love the blue background.

This owl wall hanging recently sold in my Etsy shop. Again I love the colors, the mix of the teal and the green. So cute.

And last but not least (actually probably the neatest pieces I’ve found so far) are these two framed scenery art pieces I found at an estate sale over the weekend. The first is so modern, which is different for me. The second is cute as a button and I’m so in love with it. I will sell them, unless I falter long enough to become sentimental with them.

So that’s what I’m crazy about right now. The detail, depth and creativity put into these pieces makes my heart swoon. They are so homey and each are one-of-a-kind!

Now it’s your turn, what are you crazy about right now? I’d love to hear about it in the comments below. Have a great week everyone!

About Erin Shipps

Life in your thirties can sometimes feel like you're stuck between what has happened and what's yet to come -- like being amidship. But I'm forging through with thrifty household decorating, DIY projects, health advice, and just life. When I'm not crafting my local Kansas City magazine VintageKC, I'm busy being a rock star's wife and mommy to the most beautiful 3-year-old. Welcome to our world amid the Shipps.

3 responses »

  1. Love these. The unframed one almost looks freehand. Can you tell if it is?

    Reply
  2. Such neat things you just don’t see every day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

