RSS Feed

Christmas Times 2011

I think I’m finally back in the swing of things after four Christmas celebrations, lots of awesome family time and loads of great gifts. Liam survived his second Christmas and we actually did find places for all his new toys (and million books, the kid loves books) in our humble home.

As a tradition I’ve taken to baking goods for my coworkers, but since I work remotely now, I had to wrangle up some old coworkers to take the stuff. I’m sure they complained. A lot. Without further ado, here is the 2011 Shipps Christmas Sampler:



This year the sampler included my famous cream cheese almond butter cookies, chocolate/pecan covered marshmallows, coconut macaroons, Martha Stewart’s white chocolate covered chocolate mint cookies, and mint layered fudge.

In more vintage-y news, Liam sported an awesome vintage vest I found at an estate sale for the Shipps’ Christmas Eve party. Here’s the best picture we came away with, playing with his cousin and bff Lucas (they’re exactly 9 months apart and Liam is starting to catch up, except in the hair department). 🙂 Naturally I had to pair the vest with an equally vintage (looking) turtleneck. I mean what else do you wear with a vest as awesome as that? He was a hit.

In gifts news:

  • I’m happy to announce that I am now the owner of an amazing new camera so this blog will no longer feature fuzzy and/or dark photos! i.e. see sampler photos above.
  • I also received an awesome new set of kitchen knives, which I’m deathly afraid of because they can slice right through my finger, but I also desperately needed to replace my 8-year-old cheap wedding present knives that are falling apart. My soon-to-be-arthritic wrist couldn’t handle cutting up one more sweet potato into fries.
  • There were loads of other presents, too many to note, and I’m happy to have a little money to spend on myself, which rarely happens.
  • My (and the Rock Star’s) present to myself with all my saved up Christmas monies was a new pair of glasses. My old ones lasted a good three years of constant abuse and finally fell apart at Thanksgiving. Imagine my brother and I on the floor at our Grandparents’ house under the table dragging the central vac hose covered with my Grandma’s nylons over the shag green carpet to find one tiny little washer. Too much? The glasses were doomed. So here’s the new me.
  • I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday. I feel spoiled rotten, but that’s a rare feeling, so I revel in it. I have one of the best families in the whole world and there’s not a day that goes by that I’m not thankful for each of them. Have a safe and happy new year everyone!

About Erin Shipps

Life in your thirties can sometimes feel like you're stuck between what has happened and what's yet to come -- like being amidship. But I'm forging through with thrifty household decorating, DIY projects, health advice, and just life. When I'm not crafting my local Kansas City magazine VintageKC, I'm busy being a rock star's wife and mommy to the most beautiful 3-year-old. Welcome to our world amid the Shipps.

5 responses »

  1. So sad I missed the sampler! The glasses look great on you!

    Reply
  2. Can I be your co-worker? Please? Love Liam’s little vest! What a find! Hope you guys have a very happy New Year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

