RSS Feed

My first assigned picking adventure

A couple of months ago my friend Amy at Buffalo Roam asked me to keep an eye out for some claw feet for this. She’s putting it in her powder room in her new home that she and her husband are building out of recycled materials and such. It’s going to be amazing, but I never thought I’d be able to find decent claw feet locally for a good price. Then I ended up in Grandview, MO, at a sale I found on Craigslist. We were on our way to Lee’s Summit, MO, anyway, so we thought we’d check this sale out, too. Boy I’m glad I did! The man’s father was a table maker and he had these amazing cast iron claw feet in a box that I wouldn’t have noticed except a lady was haggling with him for them. She gave up because she didn’t know what she’d do with them. Of course I knew exactly what to do with them. They were meant for Amy.

I love the detail.

And yes, Napoleon, it does have large talons.

I paid $10 each for them (there Amy, now you know how much profit I gained lol), which allowed me to offer a fair price to Amy…and she even bumped it up $5 for gas. I love that lady. So I guess it’s safe to say my first assigned picking adventure was a success. It helps that I knew my client fairly well and her style. Check out her house progress here. You’ll be in awe.

I’ll be back Thursday with my other finds from last weekend’s adventure. I managed to squeeze one more deal out of the table maker’s son. Details coming soon. 😉

P.S. Do you have something you just can’t find or don’t have the time to find? Tell me about it below and I’ll keep it on my lookout list! Also check out my Etsy page on the right for vintage treasures already for sale.

About Erin Shipps

Life in your thirties can sometimes feel like you're stuck between what has happened and what's yet to come -- like being amidship. But I'm forging through with thrifty household decorating, DIY projects, health advice, and just life. When I'm not crafting my local Kansas City magazine VintageKC, I'm busy being a rock star's wife and mommy to the most beautiful 3-year-old. Welcome to our world amid the Shipps.

5 responses »

  1. Thank you again, friend! You knocked it out of the park! I also wanted to tell you – that table you made out of barnwood? I’m seeing those all over Pinterest and some on Etsy and they’re selling for lots… like hundreds. And yours has better craftsmanship, in my opinion. I so appreciate your pricing, as I’m sure all your customers do, but I’m just saying… you put a lot of work and love into your pieces!!

    Reply
    • I know…my next step was to start looking at prices. It was a pretty simple project, but it’s kind of a big deal right now. Thanks for the heads up…I’ll be sure to do my research! I’ll probably put it on Craigslist at first. I do have a slight problem with one side being higher and not sitting in the frame well…so I may have to see about fixing that.

      I do try to be fair for sure. I figure I get really good deals and I can pass that along, especially if I know you. 😉 Thanks for the encouragement. That is always needed!

      Reply
  2. Love those, they will go perfect in Amy’s house. I am super happy you have an etsy, because I like your style girl!

    PS The barnwood table you made has a twin in the march issue of This Old House magazine. I saw it and did a little giggle!
    It also inspired me and my husband to go rummaging around in his grandpas old barn for some good old barnwood 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

