RSS Feed

Repurposed Barnwood Table

Last week I revealed my barnwood-top hairpin leg table over at Buffalo-Roam. I promised more details so here we go!

I placed at bid on this table at a Brown Button estate sale a while ago. I have a love/hate relationship with Brown Button. I love their stuff, but unlike other sales they know the value of everything! 😉 I guess you could call it good business… But I placed a bid on this table for just under half price hoping no one else would see the potential. I’ve since gotten to know some of the Brown Button people better (like Michael who has a son not too much older than my own) and I’d say the relationship is more love now. Seriously check out their sales any time you can! Anyway, here’s the table before.

Do you see the gold-flecked awfulness? Oh you need a better look?

I’m pretty sure someone out there loves it. But it’s not me. Of course the top had to go. But then I couldn’t decide between tile and wood to replace the top. Because while I liked this, I also liked this and this. Ultimately I decided the barnwood was more en vogue, not to mention free to me. 🙂

I wish I would have taken a before picture of the barnwood slat. Just imagine me hauling (ok let’s be honest, Grandpa loves helping his eldest grandchild) my 81-year-old grandpa out to his shed to find the sole remaining piece of barnwood in his collection. I’m sure Grandpa shakes his head at what a young-in like me takes a liking to, and he said he’s never had a picker stop by. I told him one day I’d be more bold and rummage through his shed with the caving-in floor. The very same shed where he pulled out his table saw and sliced the barnwood in half for me so it would fit in the trunk of my brother’s car.

Christmas Eve Eve I persuaded my father-in-law to help me (do it for me) cut the pieces down even further. We debated whether or not to do three equal-sized slats vs. staggering the widths, only to find out there wasn’t enough wood to do three equal pieces. Luckily I was on board with the staggered idea. We assessed the location of nail holes, knot holes, paint patches, etc. and I got to bring home a great Christmas present: wood cut for free. 🙂

I sanded down the rough edges, power washed the boards and used a bristle brush to remove any dirt leftover. Then I used spray poly to seal the deal.

Somehow my red kicks always seem to photobomb my pictures. And nevermind the leftover pink paint from a Christmas present project, or the fact that this picture was taken in January and the grass is still green in Kansas. Weirdo weather. But isn’t this wood beautiful?

I laid the wood on the hairpin leg base and actually ended up securing the boards together on the bottom with a metal brace. But now she looks like this.

I love every little imperfection, hole, nail mark, paint splotch and discoloration. Isn’t that what rustic is all about? I’ve also got pieces left over and I plan on using every scrap of that precious barnwood. More projects to come! The table will be up on Craigslist shortly. We’ll see how much I can squeeze out of it.

Stay tuned, on Thursday I’ll go over how I turned $2 shutters into message boards for my nieces for Christmas. Been waiting to share that one for a while! Happy hunting!

Linking to

About Erin Shipps

Life in your thirties can sometimes feel like you're stuck between what has happened and what's yet to come -- like being amidship. But I'm forging through with thrifty household decorating, DIY projects, health advice, and just life. When I'm not crafting my local Kansas City magazine VintageKC, I'm busy being a rock star's wife and mommy to the most beautiful 3-year-old. Welcome to our world amid the Shipps.

6 responses »

  1. You already know how I feel about it, but I’ll say it again. LOVE!

    Reply
  2. Looks fantastic, and thanks for sharing the details! I agree on the rustic look~ imperfection is the beauty behind it!

    Reply
  3. Thanks for linking to totally tutorials tuesday, I was happy to feature you today!!
    http://measuredbytheheart.com/2012/02/fun-feature-friday-23.html
    Have an awesome weekend!!

    Reply
  4. I love it! The repurposed wood looks gorgeous.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

